Follow

Completing the PGP - part 2

Part 2 - Completing the Self-Evaluation and Snapshot

Other videos in this series 

Completing the PGP part 1 - Introduction and Basic Navigation

Completing the PGP part 3 - Identifying Target Areas and Goal Planning

Completing the PGP part 4 - Accessing Resources and Participating in the PGP meeting

Completing the PGP part 5 - Starting the PGP Early and Accessing Support

Related PGP Articles

Learner: Accessing Your PGP

 

This is the second of a 5-part series of short videos that guide you through the process of creating your Professional Growth Plan in the EdReflect platform. The videos are intended to be viewed in sequence. Click the link that displays at the end of the video to view the next segment in the series.

This second video walks through the process of completing a self-assessment and creating a Snapshot.

Video Time: 04:57

 

Transcript:

The Learner's first PGP activity in EdReflect is to complete a self-assessment

Prior to completing the self-assessment, learners should reflect on past performance and any relevant student or performance data that can guide their selections.

When you use the Self-Assessment tool for the first time, the screen displays instructions for starting a new assessment.

Click the Add your trending ratings link in the first instruction to begin.

A new tab opens to the Learner's Aggregated Evidence and Ratings tab of the E-PORTFOLIO.

Aggregated Evidence and Ratings is also known as AE&R, for short.

If you have made ratings before, your screen looks something like this.

We'll click Nope it's none of these to start our new rating and snapshot.

As the name suggests, AE&R displays all evidence and ratings on one screen.

Ratings made here are captured and stored in Snapshots, then attached to your self-assessment activity.

We'll learn how to make snapshots soon.

You may see the ratings you selected in a previous session.

If you want to start with a clean slate, you can just click on the ratings to remove them from displaying.

The AE&R screen displays all of the TESS Domains and their Components.

When you click the expand button to the right of the component, you open the proficiency level descriptions.

Before you begin rating, you should take a deep look at the components' proficiency language, so you can understand the distinctions and demands among the levels.

When you're ready to rate, just click the bubble that corresponds to the rating.

If you want to unselect a rating, just click it again or choose a different rating.

There is no Save button to click.

EdReflect auto saves your work as you go.

Learners are expected to rate every component so they can fully evaluate and determine their areas of strength and areas for improvement.

After finishing his or her selections, the learner must create and attach a Snapshot of the selections.

A learner's self-assessment is not visible to the observer until the learner creates and attaches a Snapshot.

As the name suggests, a Snapshot captures and preserves the learner's ratings at a particular time.

When the learner creates and attaches a Snapshot to the PGP, he/she creates a static view that the Observer can see.

To start your Snapshot, click Create Snapshot.

Options expand that allow you to name the Snapshot and attach it to the PGP Meeting Activity.

Enter a meaningful name for the Snapshot.

Then click the Attach this Snapshot to a specific meeting field and choose the PGP.

This part is important, because when Snapshots are created, they are stored independent of any particular observation or meeting.

You must attach them to the relevant observation or meeting so they appear in the activity.

Once you've named and attached the Snapshot, click Create Snapshot.

Directly after you create the Snapshot, you can click Undo to delete the Snapshot.

Undo deletes the Snapshot, but does not delete the ratings you've created.

When the Snapshot is created, you can close the Snapshot tab and return to the Self-Rating Activity.

You'll need to refresh the screen to see the Snapshot that has been added to the conference.

When a ratings Snapshot is attached to an activity, it is just a Snapshot.

It's read-only for both the learner and observer.

You and the observer can expand the components to review the evidence you've chosen to display, but you cannot change the ratings in a Snapshot.

If you need to remove the Snapshot and replace it with a different one, click Remove in the upper right.

The Snapshot is removed from view, but it is not deleted from the system.

You can retrieve it by clicking its link on the screen.

 

Was this article helpful?
6 out of 6 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

  • Avatar
    Julie McIndoe

    Imformitive

  • Avatar
    Julie McIndoe

    Helpful

Powered by Zendesk